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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Motor Vehicle Commission 

Automotive IndustryRecreational Products 
(LAC 46:V.309 and Chapters 15 and 17) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and in accordance with 
Revised Statutes Title 32, Chapter 6, the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, notice is 
hereby given that the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission 
finds it necessary to adopt §309 to implement the provisions 
of R.S. 49:953(C) which requires the agency to provide a 
Rule for an interested person to request the adoption, 
amendment, or repeal of a rule. 

The Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission finds it 
necessary to adopt this Rule to further implement the 
provisions of R.S. 49:953(C) which require an agency to 
provide a rule for an interested person to request the 
adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule.  

The legislature enacted R.S. 32:1256.1 to provide 
statutory authority for regional recreational product shows. 
This enactment resulted in Chapter 15 being inconsistent 
with the provisions of the statute requiring that it be repealed 
by the commission. Chapter 15, Recreational Product 
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Shows, will be repealed. Chapter 15, Recreational Product 
Shows, is being adopted with language to clarify the 
regional recreational product rules which will assist 
licensees in dealing with the regulatory scheme assigned to 
the commission. The Rule will increase the license fee for 
promoters, producers, or organizers from $100 to $500. The 
Rule will reduce the recreational product show license fee 
from $500 to $100. The Rule makes clear the order and 
priority of invitations to the regional recreational product 
shows and sets forth requirements for out of state exhibitors 
to participate. The Rule also establishes sales activities that 
may take place at a regional recreational product show.  

Chapter 17, Recreational Product Static Offsite Displays; 
Off-site Expositions, is being adopted to replace provisions 
formerly contained in the repealed Chapter 15. This adoption 
allows the commission to continue to license dealers and 
regulate recreational product expositions and static offsite 
displays certain situations covered by Chapter 17. This will 
assure the consuming public will benefit by attendance at 
regional recreational product shows and expositions 
conducted by producers under the provisions of the Motor 
Vehicle Commission law.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part V.  Automotive Industry 

Subpart 1.  Motor Vehicle Commission 
Chapter 3. Hearing Procedures  
§309. Petition for Commission Review of Rule

A. A request by an interested party for the adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a rule pursuant to R.S. 49:953(C). 
shall be made in the form of a petition to the commission. 
The petition shall include, but shall not be limited, to the 
following:  

1. the name and address of petitioner;
2. specific reference to the statute or rules to which it

relates; 
3. a statement of the proposed action requested;
4. a summary of the content of the rule change

proposed if for adoption or repeal; a summary of the change 
in the rule if proposed for amendment; 

5. the specific citation of the enabling legislation
purporting to authority the requested review; 

6. a statement of the circumstances which require the
adoption, amendment or repeal of the rule; and 

7. other information appropriate for the commission's
deliberation on the request. 

B. The petition will be considered by the commission at 
its next regularly scheduled meeting provided the petition 
has been filed at least 30 days prior to that meeting. 

C. The commission will either deny the petition in 
writing, stating the reason for denial, or shall initiate rule 
making proceedings within 90 days after submission of the 
petition.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E) and R.S. 49:953(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 39: 
Chapter 15. Recreational Product Shows 
§1501. License and Regulation of Recreational Product

Shows 
A. The commission shall license and regulate 

recreational product shows at offsite locations.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E) and R.S. 32:1256.1(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37:2996 (October 
2011), repromulgated LR 37:3262 (November 2011), amended LR 
39: 
§1503. Promoter, Producer or Organizer License Fee

and Application 
[Formerly §1505] 

A. A promoter, producer or organizer shall obtain a 
license from the commission and its request for a license 
shall consist of the following: 

1. the application for license shall be on forms
prescribed by the commission and shall require such 
information as the commission deems necessary to enable it 
to determine the qualifications and eligibility of the 
applicant; 

2. a license fee of $500 for each year covered by the
license; 

3. a list of shows proposed or planned for the licensed
year. This list shall be updated on an annual basis. 

B. Any application not received at the appropriate time 
shall be charged a late fee in accordance with R.S. 
32:1255(B). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E) and R.S. 32:1256.1(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37:2997 (October 
2011), repromulgated LR 37:3262 (November 2011), amended LR 
39: 
§1505. Recreational Product Show License Fee and

Application 
[Formerly §1507] 

A. The promoter, producer or organizer of a regional or 
national recreational product show shall be required to 
obtain a license for the show from the commission and its 
request for a license shall consist of the following:  

1. the application shall be on a form prescribed by the
commission and shall require such information as the 
commission deems necessary to enable it to determine the 
qualifications and eligibility of the applicant; 

2. a license fee of $100;
3. the license shall be for the recreational product

show subject of the application. 
B. The application must be submitted to the commission 

no less than 90 days prior to the opening date of the 
recreational product show. Any application received after 
that date shall be charged a late fee in accordance with R.S. 
32:1255(B). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E) and R.S. 32:1256.1(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37:2997 (October 
2011), repromulgated LR 37:3262 (November 2011), amended  LR 
39: 
§1507. Regional Recreational Product Show; Invitation

and Priority 
A. The promoter shall contact and invite all licensees of 

the type of recreational products to be displayed at a regional 
recreational product show as follows. 

1. All Louisiana recreational product dealers whose
area of responsibility for the brands they represent includes 
the location of the show shall not later than 75 days prior to 
the beginning date of the show be invited and have the first 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 38, No. 12   December 20, 2012 3283 

option to participate in the show. These licensees shall notify 
the promoter or producer of its participation in the show 
within 10 business days of the receipt of the invitation.  

2. Louisiana dealers whose area of responsibility does 
not include the location of the show shall not later than 60 
days prior to the beginning date of the show be invited and 
have the second option to participate in the show, provided 
that a dealer shall not show the same brand of recreational 
product as shown by a participating Louisiana recreational 
product dealer whose area of responsibility includes the 
location of the show.  

3. The promoter shall accept any request from a 
licensed Louisiana recreational product dealer not excluded 
by Paragraph 2 of this Subection to participate in the show 
so long as space is available at the location of the show as 
determined by the producer. These licensees shall notify the 
producer or promoter of its participation in the show within 
10 business days of the receipt of the invitation.  

4. The promoter after complying with Paragraphs 1, 2 
and 3 of this Subsection, may invite nonresident recreational 
product dealer, distributors, or manufacturers who shall not 
show the same brand of recreational products as shown by 
participating Louisiana recreational product dealers.  

5. No recreational vehicle dealer, distributor or 
manufacturer shall participate in any regional recreational 
product show where its product line of recreational vehicles 
is represented by a dealer whose area of responsibility 
includes the location of the show, whether or not that dealer 
participates in the show. If no dealer's area of responsibility 
includes the location of the show, any dealer, distributor or 
manufacturer of a product line of recreational vehicles may 
participate in the show for so long as space is available as 
determined by producer.  

6. The promoter shall maintain all records of invited, 
participating and declining dealers and shall furnish these 
records to the commission 10 working days prior to the 
opening of the recreational products show. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E) and R.S. 32:1256.1(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 39: 
§1509. Non-Louisiana Display Permit Fee and 

Application  
A. A non-Louisiana recreational product dealer, 

distributor or manufacturer shall obtain a display permit to 
participate in a regional recreational product show not later 
than 10 business days prior to the date of the show by 
providing the following: 

1. its name and address; 
2. a copy of its current equivalent license from the 

state of its domicile; 
3. a statement to be disclosed at the show to attendees 

the location of where warranty repairs will be made for 
products it will display at the show;  

4. the name, site and date of the show for which a 
display permit is sought; and  

5. a registration fee of $250. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1253(E) and R.S. 32:1256.1(F). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 39: 

§1511. Sales at a Regional Recreational Product Show 
A. Except for a licensed Louisiana recreational product 

dealer whose area of responsibility includes the site of the 
regional recreational product show, a licensed recreational 
product dealer or non-resident recreational product dealer 
may not complete a sales transaction (by accepting purchase 
funds, completing the paperwork and delivering a product) 
for recreational products at a regional recreational product 
show. This restriction shall not apply to or extend to sales 
price negotiation, accepting deposits, setting closing dates, 
or completing a buyer's order.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E) and R.S. 32:1256.1(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 39: 
Chapter 17. Recreational Product Static Offsite 

Displays; Offsite Expositions 
§1701. Offsite Expositions of Recreational Products 

[Formerly §1513]  
A. The executive director must approve all offsite 

expositions by licensed recreational products dealers. A 
request for an offsite exposition, accompanied by a fee of 
$200, must be received and approved by the executive 
director 10 days prior to the commencement of the 
exposition. Any application received after that date shall be 
charged a late fee in accordance with R.S. 32:1255(B).  

B. The location of any off-site exposition must be within 
the dealer's area of responsibility. 

C. An off-site exposition of recreational products is 
limited to a single dealer and shall not exceed nine days.  

D. A recreational products dealer may have only four 
off-site expositions per calendar year and at the same 
location only once each six months. 

E. The number of vehicles at any off-site exposition of 
recreational products will be left to the discretion of the 
executive director. 

F. The presence of any sales personnel, business cards, 
brochures, pricing sheets and other points of sales devices 
will be allowed to answer consumer questions. However, 
recreational products cannot be delivered from the off-site 
exposition location. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E) and R.S. 32:1256.1(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37:2997 (October 
2011), repromulgated LR 37:3263 (November 2011), amended LR 
39: 
§1703. Static Offsite Displays 

A. The executive director must approve all offsite 
displays of recreational products. A licensee's request to 
display recreational products at an offsite location must be 
received by the commission seven days prior to the 
commencement of the display.  

B. The location of each display must be within the 
licensee's defined area of responsibility for the make and 
model to be displayed, if applicable.  

C. Each offsite display will be limited to 30 days, unless 
the licensee submits a copy of the contract for the location of 
the offsite display and then the display will be limited to the 
length of the contract up to a six month period. There will 
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not be a limit on the number of offsite displays allowed per 
year, per licensee.  

D. The number of recreational products at any offsite 
display will be left to the discretion of the executive director.  

E. The presence of any sales personnel, business cards, 
brochures, pricing sheets, or any other point of sale device is 
strictly prohibited. The only pricing information allowed on 
any vehicle(s) displayed will be the Maroney label which is 
required by federal law or, with regard to recreational 
vehicles, the manufacturer's suggested retail price.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E) and R.S. 32:1256.1(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 39: 
§1705. Licensee Participation in a Rally 

[Formerly §1515] 
A. Closed Rally 

1. A closed rally is conducted and limited to a single 
product line. 

2. A closed rally shall be subject to the provisions of 
§1701 of this Chapter.  

B. Open Rally 
1. An open rally is conducted with multiple product 

lines invited to participate. 
2. An open rally is subject to all provisions of this 

Chapter related to recreational product shows. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1253(E) and R.S. 32:1256.1(F). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37:2998 (October 
2011), repromulgated LR 37:3263 (November 2011), amended LR 
39: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. What effect will this Rule have on the stability of 

the family? The proposed Rule should have a positive effect 
on the stability of the family. 

2. What effect will this have on the authority and 
rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? The proposed Rule will not affect the 
authority and rights of persons regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. 

3. What effect will this have on the functioning of the 
family? This proposed Rule will have no effect on the 
functioning of the family. 

4. What effect will this have on family earnings and 
family budget? The proposed Rule will not affect the family 
earnings or family budget. 

5. What effect will this have on the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? This proposed Rule will 
not affect the behavior or personal responsibility of children. 

6. What effect will this have on the ability of the 
family or local government to perform the function as 
contained in this proposed Rule? This proposed Rule is 
designed to help the family to obtain the information and 
help needed to own their own vehicle. 

Small Business Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will not have a 

significant adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, consistent with 
health, safety, environmental and economic factors has 
considered and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods 

in drafting the proposed Rule to accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing any anticipated adverse 
impact on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Any person may submit data, views or positions in writing 

to the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, 3519 Twelfth 
Street, Metairie, LA 70002 and facsimile (504) 838-5416 no 
later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, January 9, 2013. 

 
Lessie A. House 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Automotive Industry 

Recreational Products 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may result in a minimal increase 
in Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission administrative costs 
associated with reviewing and preparing sponsored regional 
recreational product shows or events licenses. The proposed 
rule provides for the holding of regional recreational product 
shows or events in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 
32:1256.1 and provides for license fees and applications 
together with priority of invitations. The proposed rule also 
provides for recreational product exhibitions and rallies.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may result in an indeterminable 
net decrease in revenues of approximately $2,500 to $4,000 
annually as a result of the license fees for trade shows being 
reduced from $500 to $100. Over the past three years an 
average of sixteen trade show permits were issued per year. 
The proposed rule increases the producer license fee from $100 
to $500. Over the past three years an average of 13 producer 
licenses were issued suggesting the revenue loss from trade 
show licenses may be greater than the gains from increased 
producer license fees. However, the proposed rule also 
establishes guidelines for permitting out of state trade show 
participants under certain circumstances. These entities would 
be required to acquire a $250 display permit. This fee would be 
new revenue as these entities were previously ineligible to 
participate. The number of out of state entities that would 
participate and pay the additional fee is indeterminable, but any 
additional revenues would offset the projected net decrease. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Producers of regional recreational product shows may have 
a minimal increase in paperwork associated with the 
application for licenses. To the degree that the proposed rule 
change encourages or prohibits additional scheduling of trade 
shows, licensed producers and participating vendors may 
realize an impact on income streams from booth sales and 
admission charges for attendance at the show or event. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to have no effect 
on competition and employment.  

 
Lessie House Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1212#047 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 


