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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Motor Vehicle Commission 

Automotive Industry  
(LAC 46:V.Chapters 1, 13, 15 and 18) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act R.S. 49:950 et seq., and in accordance with 
Revised Statutes Title 32, Chapter 6, the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, notice is 
hereby given that the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission 
finds it necessary to adopt paragraph B of §107 to further 
implement the provisions of R.S. 32:1268.2. In the country's 
current economic condition, manufacturers of motor vehicles 
and recreational products are filing for bankruptcy, 
discontinuing lines, and ceasing to do business at an 
alarming rate making it unlawful under state law for dealers 
to sell their new inventory. R. S. 32: 1268.2 was enacted by 
the legislature to allow previously franchised motor vehicle 
and recreational product dealers to continue to be licensed 
under circumstances where the manufacturer is in 
bankruptcy, is no longer in business, or has terminated a line. 
This Rule will allow the commission to license the 
terminated dealer to perform warranty work under an 
agreement with the manufacturer when a line has been 
terminated. This will assure the consuming public the 
availability of a dealer to perform warranty on a terminated 
vehicle.  

The commission proposes to adopt §1307 to place in its 
Rules its previously adopted policy regarding offsite 
displays by manufacturers, distributors, factory and 
distributor branches and new motor vehicle dealer licensees. 
This regulation has been in effect since 2004 and makes no 
change that will affect those persons covered by the Rule.  

The commission proposes to repeal provisions of its rules 
relating to recreational product shows and replace them with 
existing and new regulations and language to clarify the 
Rule. 

Rules will be adopted to implement the provisions of R.S. 
32:1256 with regard to recreational product shows. Chapter 
18. Recreational Products Trade Show; Definitions, License 
Fees and Applications; Violations and Regulations will be 
repealed. Chapter 15. Recreational Product Shows is being 
adopted with language to clarify the rules and put into the 
rule customary procedures of the commission which will 
assist licensees in dealing with the regulatory scheme 
assigned the commission. This Rule will eliminate 
provisions for local and regional shows and provides for a 
recreational product show. The fee for the show, $500, is the 
fee that has been charged for a regional show under repealed 
Chapter 18. The provisions for a non-resident exhibitor have 
not been included as the reference to non-resident exhibitors 
has been deleted from Title 32, Chapter 6. In addition only a 
licensee of the commission may offer for sale recreational 
products in this state. The provisions of former §1806 
regarding offsite displays of marine products have been 
expanded to include all recreational products. A fee of $200 
is established to cover the cost to approve and inspect the 
offsite displays. The Rule clarifies the requirement for 
invitations and priority of those invitations to participate in 
the recreational product show. The amendment clarifies the 
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requirements for a licensee to participate in closed or open 
rallies.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part V.  Automotive Industry 

Subpart 1.  Motor Vehicle Commission 
Chapter 1. General Requirements  
§107. Manufacturer Termination of Franchise 

Liquidation of New Vehicle Inventory; Warranty 
Work; Exception 

A. - A.5 ... 
B. At the termination of the franchise the license issued 

by the commission may remain in effect or be renewed at the 
discretion of the executive director as a service center to 
perform warranty repairs on the vehicle under the following 
circumstances. 

1. The dealer shall remain a dealer licensed by the 
commission. 

2. The manufacturer, distributor or factory branch 
must enter into an agreement authorizing the dealer to 
perform warranty repairs on the terminated vehicle which 
agreement will comply with all provisions of R.S. 32:1251 et 
seq. and the rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this 
Chapter with regard to warranty work. The agreement must 
be approved upon execution and annually upon renewal of 
the dealer’s license by the commission. 

C. All applications for a license shall include evidence 
that the applicant has such liability protection covering its 
place of business and its operation that complies with the 
financial responsibility laws of the state of Louisiana and as 
determined by the applicant and its insurance agent that are 
necessary to provide coverage to the place and nature of the 
business sought to be licensed to protect the applicant and 
the consumers of this state.  

D. All applications for license as a distributor or 
wholesaler shall include a copy of its franchise with the 
person, licensed by the Commission, whose product it will 
offer for sale to the licensees of the Commission in this state.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 36:1547 (July 
2010), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 13. New Motor Vehicle Auto Shows; Offsite 

Displays 
§1307. Static Offsite Displays 

A. The executive director must approve all offsite 
displays of motor vehicles. A licensee’s request to display 
vehicles at an offsite location must be received by the 
commission seven days prior to the commencement of the 
display. 

B. The location of each display must be within the 
licensee’s defined area of responsibility for the make and 
model to be displayed, if applicable. 

C. Each offsite display will be limited to 30 days, unless 
the licensee submits a copy of the contract for the location of 
the offsite display and then the display will be limited to the 
length of the contract up to a six month period. There will 
not be a limit on the number of offsite displays allowed per 
year, per licensee. 

D. The number of vehicles at any offsite display will be 
left to the discretion of the executive director, with a 
maximum of six vehicles per licensee, per display. 

E. The presence of any sales personnel, business cards, 
brochures, pricing sheets, or any other point of sale device is 
strictly prohibited. The only pricing information allowed on 
any vehicle(s) displayed will be the Maroney label which is 
required by federal law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37: 
Chapter 15. Recreational Product Shows 
§1501. Authorization for Recreational Product Show 

A. The commission may authorize or prohibit 
recreational product shows at offsite locations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37: 
§1503. Definitions 

Promoter—any person who alone or with others assumes 
the financial responsibility of a recreational product show in 
which recreational products are displayed by licensed 
dealers, manufacturers or distributors. 

Rally—an event held and organized by recreational 
product clubs of specific product owners or manufacturers of 
specific products where owners of the specific products are 
members of the club and are invited to participate in the 
event. 

Recreational Product Show—a controlled event in which 
a promoter charges or barters for booth space and/or charges 
spectator entrance in which 3 or more recreational product 
dealers exhibit vehicles. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37: 
§1505. Promoter License Fee and Application 

A. A promoter shall obtain a license from the 
commission and its request for a license shall consist of the 
following: 

1. the application for license shall be on forms 
prescribed by the commission and shall require such 
information as the commission deems necessary to enable it 
to determine the qualifications and eligibility of the 
applicant; 

2. a license fee of $100;  
3. a promoter's license shall expire on December 31. 

B. All applications to the commission for display permits 
not received within 30 days of that start of the trade show or 
exposition shall be charged a $50 late processing fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37: 
§1507. License Application for Recreational Product 

Show 
A. The promoter of a recreational product show shall be 

required to obtain a license for the show from the 
commission and its request for a license shall consist of the 
following:  
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1. the application shall be on a form prescribed by the 
commission and shall require such information as the 
commission deems necessary to enable it to determine the 
qualifications and eligibility of the applicant; 

2. a license fee of $500; 
3. the license shall be for the recreational product 

show subject of the application. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1253(E). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37: 
§1509. Recreational Product Show Requirements 

A. The application must be submitted to the commission 
no less than 60 days prior to the opening date of the 
recreational product show. 

B. Only licensed recreational product dealers whose area 
of responsibility includes the show site may display and 
conduct sales of recreational products at recreational product 
shows. 

C. All licensed recreational product dealers within 30 
miles of the recreational product show's location must be 
offered the opportunity to participate in the show. 

D. Each respective manufacturer shall grant authority to 
the dealers participating in the recreational product show. 

E. Not less than 30 days prior to the opening day of the 
recreational product show the commission must receive a list 
of all participating recreational product dealers together with 
the consent of each respective manufacturer. 

F. Participation by a recreational product dealer shall 
include display of vehicles and presence of dealer personnel.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37: 
§1511. Invitations and Priority 

The promoter shall contact and invite potential 
participants to a recreational products show as follows. 

1. The promoter shall first contact all recreational 
product dealers who sell the type of vehicle to be displayed 
at the recreational product show whose location is within a 
30 mile radius of the show. Only dealers whose area of 
responsibility includes the show site may display the 
particular make of recreational products sold by them. 

2. The promoter may invite, but shall accept any 
request from a recreational product dealer, not excluded by 
Paragraph 1 of this Section, above, whose business is 
conducted beyond the 30 mile radius whose area of 
responsibility includes the show site.  

3. If a recreational products trade show is being held 
in a location where a recreational product does not have a 
dealer whose area of responsibility includes the show’s 
location it shall be the manufacturer’s responsibility to 
determine which licensee will represent that manufacturer at 
the show. If the manufacturer has not assigned a dealer to 
represent their product at a show, then the dealer that is the 
closest proximity to the show location shall determine which 
dealer has the first right of refusal to participate in a show 
based upon the shortest land based route. 

4. The promoter shall maintain all records of invited, 
participating and declining dealers and shall furnish these 
records to the commission ten days prior to the opening of 
the recreational products show. 

5. A recreational vehicle manufacturer or distributor 
may exhibit its recreational products at a show only through 
a recreational products dealer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37: 
§1513. Off-Site Expositions of Recreational Products  

A. The executive director must approve all off-site 
expositions by licensed recreational products dealers. A 
request for an off-site exposition, accompanied by a fee of 
$200, must be received and approved by the executive 
director ten days prior to the commencement of the 
exposition. Any application received after that date shall be 
charged a $50 late fee.  

B. The location of any off-site exposition must be within 
the dealer's area of responsibility. 

C. An off-site exposition of recreational products is 
limited to a single dealer and shall not exceed nine days.  

D. A recreational products dealer may have only four 
off-site expositions per calendar year and at the same 
location only once each six months. 

E. The number of vehicles at any off-site exposition of 
recreational products will be left to the discretion of the 
executive director, with a maximum of 20 vehicles. 

F. The presence of any sales personnel, business cards, 
brochures, pricing sheets and other points of sales devices 
will be allowed to answer consumer questions. However, 
recreational products cannot be delivered from the off-site 
exposition location. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37: 
§1515. Licensee Participation in a Rally 

A. Closed Rally 
1. A closed rally is conducted and limited to a single 

product line. 
2. A closed rally shall be subject to the provisions of 

§1513 of this Chapter.  
B. Open Rally 

1. An open rally is conducted with multiple product 
lines invited to participate. 

2. An open rally is subject to all provisions of this 
Chapter related to recreational product shows. 
Chapter 18. Recreational Products Trade Show; 

Definitions, License Fees and 
Applications; Violations and Regulation 

§1801. Definitions 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32: 783(F)(7). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the office of the 

Governor, Recreational and Used Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 
34:435 (March 2008), repromulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 35:1525 (August 2009), 
repealed LR 37: 
§1802. License Fees and Applications 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:783(F)(7). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Recreational and Used Motor Vehicle Commission LR 
34:436 (March 2008), repromulgated by the Office of the 
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Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 35:1526 (August 2009), 
repealed LR 37: 
§1803. Order of Preference and Priority 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

783 (F)(7). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Recreational and Used Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 
34:436 (March 2008), repromulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 35:1526 (August 2009), 
repealed 37: 
§1804. Violations 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:783(F)(7). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Recreational and Used Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 
34:436 (March 2008), repromulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 35:1526 (August 2009), 
repealed LR 37: 
§1805. Miscellaneous Provisions; Enforcement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:783(F)(7). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Recreational and Used Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 
34:437 (March 2008), repromulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 35:1527 (August 2009), 
repealed LR 37: 
§1806. Off-Site Displays―Marine Products 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:783. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Recreational and Used Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 
34:437 (March 2008), repromulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 35:1527 (August 2009), 
repealed LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. What effect will this Rule have on the stability of 

the family? The proposed Rule should have a positive effect 
on the stability of the family. 

2. What effect will this have on the authority and 
rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? The proposed Rule will not affect the 
authority and rights of persons regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. 

3. What effect will this have on the functioning of the 
family? This Rule will have no effect on the functioning of 
the family. 

4. What effect will this have on family earnings and 
family budget? The proposed Rule will not affect the family 
earnings or family budget. 

5. What effect will this have on the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? This proposed Rule will 
not affect the behavior or personal responsibility of children. 

6. What effect will this have on the ability of the 
family or local government to perform the function as 
contained in this proposed Rule? This proposed Rule is 
designed to help the family to obtain the information and 
help needed to own their own automobile. 

Small Business Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will not have a 

significant adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, consistent with 

health, safety, environmental and economic factors has 
considered and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods 
in drafting the proposed Rule to accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing any anticipated adverse 
impact on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Any person may submit data, views or positions, orally or 

in writing to the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, 3519 
12th Street, Metairie, LA 70002 or by telephoning at 504-
838-5207 and facsimile 504-838-5416. 

 
Lessie A. House 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Automotive Industry 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
No implementation costs or savings to state or local 

governmental units is anticipated as a result of the proposed 
rules. The proposal eliminates Chapter 18 and establishes a 
new chapter 15. Chapter 18 provided separate rules and a 
different fee amount for local versus regional recreational 
product shows. Chapter 15 provides one rule that covers all 
recreational product shows. The proposal deletes provisions 
regarding non-resident exhibitor, and limits the sale of 
recreational products in the state to businesses that are licensed 
by the Louisiana Motor Vehicle commission. The provision 
regarding offsite displays that currently apply to marine 
products is being expanded to include all recreation products, 
and includes to establishment of a $200 inspection and 
application fee. The proposed rule will also allow the 
commission to license a dealer to perform warranty work under 
an agreement with the manufacturer when a product line has 
been terminated, to assure the availability of a dealer to 
perform warranty work on a terminated product line. The 
proposed rule codifies existing practices regarding  new motor 
vehicle auto show offsite displays. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rule is anticipated to result 
in a $7,000 annual increase in self-generated revenues. No 
increase in local government revenues is anticipated. A $3,000 
increase is anticipated to result from a $400 fee increase for 
businesses that previously participated in a local recreational 
products show, and a $4,000 increase is anticipated to result 
from a $200 fee for inspection of offsite displays. 

The proposed rule increases the fee for businesses that 
previously participated in a local recreational production show 
from $200 per show to $500 per show. Approximately 10 
businesses annually participate in local recreational product 
shows. The commission has collected no revenue from regional 
shows. 

The commission is anticipated to inspect 20 offsite displays 
annually at a cost of $200 per display. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Under the proposed rule, the fee to participate in a 
recreational products show is $500 per show. The new fee is 
the same as the amount currently required for participation in a 
regional show, and $300 more than the existing fee of $200 for 
participation in a local recreational product show. The 
Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission has had no applications 
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for regional recreational production shows. All shows held in 
the past were classified as a local show. 

Businesses utilizing offsite displays will be accessed a new 
fee of $200 for inspection of such displays. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Ingya Cattle H. Gordon Monk 
Assistant Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1108#086 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 




