

State of Louisiana

LOUISIANA MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION

Bobby Jindal Governor Lessie A. House Executive Director

July 31, 2008

BULLETIN #B-2008-06

TO: LMVC Licensees

RE: Convenience Fees

LSA-R.S. 6:969.18A. (3) provides: The seller or extender of credit may additionally charge the consumer a convenience fee, as provided by R.S. 47:532.1(A)(7)(c), for services performed in obtaining a motor vehicle license or title on the consumer's behalf.

Act 290 of the 2008 Regular Legislative Session amended LSA-R.S. 47:532.1 to read (change highlighted in red):

A. (7)(c) Public license tag agents shall also be authorized to provide information on the status of registration privileges and to process reinstatements of driving and motor vehicle registration privileges when these privileges were revoked due to the failure to maintain the compulsory motor vehicle liability security or the failure to provide proof of such security. Public license tag agents shall be authorized to charge a convenience fee not to exceed **eighteen** dollars, to provide information on the status of registration privileges and a fee not to exceed **eighteen** dollars per reinstatement, provided that the fees are disclosed immediately to the consumer prior to the initiation of the transaction and the fees are posted in a conspicuous manner in the business office of the public license tag agent.

C. Public license tag agents shall be authorized to collect a convenience fee in addition to the registration license tax. The convenience fee shall not exceed **eighteen** dollars per license. However, the public license tag agents shall collect and retain the full amount of the convenience fee. The seller is authorized by this Subsection in connection with any retail sale, in addition to the fees authorized in Chapter 10-B of Title 6 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950.

D. (1) Each public license tag agent approved by the office of motor vehicles shall disclose information to the consumer that a license tag may be purchased at the office of motor vehicles without payment of the convenience fee.

BULLETIN #B-2008-06

July 31, 2008 Page 2

(2) Itemization of this convenience fee in compliance with federal laws regarding truth and lending shall be considered compliance with this Section.

WHAT THIS MEANS:

LSA-R.S. 6:969.18 (A), was amended to increase the convenience fee to be collected by a motor vehicle seller or extender of credit pursuant to LSA-R.S. 6:969.18 has increased from \$12.00 to \$18.00. This fee (\$18.00) may be collected when you use a Public Tag Agent in obtaining a motor vehicle license or title on the consumer's behalf.

This becomes effective August 15, 2008.

Please note that you cannot keep any portion of the convenience fee. What is collected must be paid out for services preformed by the Public Tag Agent.